By using this site you agree to the use of cookies. These cookies are essential to make our site work and also to help us to improve it by providing some insight into how the site is used. Learn more about our use of cookies.

Colleges and Business Units

The Academy is comprised of the Royal College of Defence Studies (RCDS), the Joint Services Command and Staff College(JSCSC), the Shrivenham Leadership Centre (SLC), the Armed Forces Chaplaincy Centre (AFCC), the Nuclear Department, the Defence Centre of Training Support (DCTS), the Technology School, the Business Skills College, the Defence 6th Form College (DSFC), Defence Technical Undergraduate Scheme (DTUS), Defence Technical Officer and Engineer Entry Scheme (DTOEES) and Defence Engagement


The Defence Academy has a number of sites. The Headquarters, JSCSC, Technology School, Business Skills College and SLC are based at Shrivenham, the RCDS is in Belgravia, London and the AFCC has its home in Andover. Other important sites include the Nuclear Department based at HMS Sultan, DCTS based at RAF Halton, DSFC, Welbeck and the 5 Universities (Aston, Loughborough, Newcastle, Northumbria and Southampton)