Capability and Acquisition Series - CAPACA

Business Skills College
Module 1 - 4 days
Module 2 - 10 days 
Module 3 - 5 days
Module 4 - 3 days

About this programme

The Capability and Acquisition Series is a programme of practitioner level courses, consisting of four modules. It demonstrates how the UK MOD undertakes the end to end process of sourcing and supporting new and existing military capability. Course topics are contextualised in the UK MOD environment with practical examples given throughout.  

Through undertaking the Capability and Acquisition Series, you will be provided with the practitioner level skills to be able to understand and then apply UK MOD commercial, financial and investment appraisal processes to your own roles.

For more information and dates

To find out more about the modules, planned dates and to register your interest, click the associated module link in the key information section on the right hand side of this page.

What you will learn

Module 1 – Capability 
Acquire an understanding of the MOD’s capability management processes and their application in the development and generation of affordable and strategy-compliant force structures and military capability.

Module 2 – Acquisition
Acquire an understanding of the MOD’s acquisition management processes, preparing you to work within the MOD acquisition environment.

Module 3 – Project or Programme Elective
Be given the opportunity to undertake either the civilian practitioner level project or programme qualification that is relevant to delivering your primary job requirements. 

Module 4 – Requirements
Focus on the understanding and application of tools and techniques and the principles of how to develop, deliver, test, analyse and manage robust requirements – which are themselves an essential element of delivering military capability to the front line commands.

How will this programme help my career?

This programme is recognised as part of the military capability and acquisition FKSE (Functional Knowledge Skills and Experience) and is a prerequisite for a number of military posts. If you are a civil servant, the programme will provide you with the key skills needed to undertake a job in the capability and acquisition arena. If you are an international student or from industry, the programme will provide you with a working understanding of the process and lexicon the UK MOD use in the capability and acquisition arena. 

Security and restrictions

The course will be briefed at Official.

Before you attend

  • Module 1 must be completed before undertaking Module 2. 
  • Both Module 1 and Module 2 must be completed before undertaking Module 3 – Project Management Elective.
  • Only Module 1 needs to be completed before undertaking Module 3 – Programme Management Elective. 
  • Module 1 must be completed before undertaking Module 4 (Modules 2 and 3 are not pre-requisites). 

You need to have read ‘How Defence Works’ and undertake one of the following: 

  • Navy – link via DLE to Navy Acquisition System Awareness eLearning v1.0, hosted on the  DLE under courses
  • RAF – link via DLE to Air Acquisition Awareness training hosted on the DLE, under schools / RAF / COS Cap
  • Army – link via DLE to Acquisition System Awareness ELearning hosted on the DLE, under schools / Army / Army Intelligent Customer / ELearning 

Can I attend this programme?

This programme is suitable for the following type(s) of applicant.
  • Industry
  • Internationals
  • Military
  • MOD Civil Servants
  • Partners Across Government (PAG)
This course is aimed at OF4s/C1s and OF3s/C2s. Applications from lower grades will be considered, but will be loaded on priority basis.

How will I learn?

Blended Learning